It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SMHSC Surgical Technology: Databases & Journals
A program co-sponsored by Walters State and Roane State Community College
This valuable resource provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database. This database includes journals specifically useful for Surgical Technology students such as AORN (Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses), Med-Surg Matters, and MedSurg Nursing.
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Journals @ Ovid Nursing Collection (Lippincott, Williams, & Wilkins) provides full-text access to a select group of highly respected medical and nursing journals, but also include ones specifically helpful for Surgical Technology students: The Journal of Patient Safety, OR Nurse, and Plastic Surgical Nursing.
Provides professional perioperative registered nurses with evidence-based practice information needed to help meet the physiological, behavioral, safety, and health system needs of a diverse patient population.
The Journal of Patient Safety, an academic, peer-reviewed journal, is a new venue dedicated to both rigorous research and field application articles covering to all areas of patient safety and quality health care.
Written by and for plastic surgical nurses, Plastic Surgical NUrsing features clinical articles covering a wide variety of surgical procedures. Patient education techniques and research findings are also included, as well as articles discussing the ethical issues and trends in this expanding clinical nursing specialty.
The Surgical Technologist
This journal created by the Association of Surgical Technologists, is available ONLY in print.