Academic Search Complete - an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 14,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 7500. Most are peer reviewed. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles.
General OneFile- one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics with millions of articles in full-text. It covers over 9000 periodical titles.
eBook Academic Collection is a collection of thousands of full text electronic books. Each volume is presented complete, as published in the print edition. From the NetLibrary site you can search for titles by author, publisher, etc., or search for phrases within the full text.
Educator's Reference Complete - is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. The database is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home.
Kids InfoBits - is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Careers Facts on File - The critically acclaimed Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center features authoritative, wide-ranging content that is accessible and intuitively organized. This comprehensive career research database is broken down into three main sections: Job and Industry Profiles, Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills, and Career and Industry Resources. Our career research database is known for its unprecedented depth of coverage and variety of user-friendly content formats. The material is drawn from a range of authoritative sources and is extensively indexed.
Center for Early Literacy Learning (CELL) Practice Guides for Infants & Toddlers
Literacy Learning Experiences, Stories & Listening, Scribbling & Drawing, Rhymes & Sound Awareness, Vocalizing/Talking & Listening, Gestures & Signing, and Symbols & Letters activities. http://www.earlyliteracylearning.org/pgparents.php#infants
Center for Early Literacy Learning (CELL) Practice Guides for Preschoolers
Literacy Learning Experiences, Letters & Spelling, Reading & Storytelling, Drawing & Writing, Rhymes & Sound Awareness, Talking & Listening, and Signing Activities. http://www.earlyliteracylearning.org/pgparents.php#preschoolers
Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale (ECERS-R)
A comprehensive, reliable & valid tool to assess program quality & quantify what is happening in a classroom. Using this rating scale can play an important role in improving the quality of early childhood care. https://ers.fpg.unc.edu/
National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER)
The National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER) conducts and communicates research to support high-quality, effective early childhood education for all young children. Such education enhances their physical, cognitive, and social development, and subsequent success in school and later life. http://nieer.org/
Harvard Center for the Developing Child
The science of early childhood is a source of new ideas that could be used to develop more effective policies & services focused on the early years of life. https://developingchild.harvard.edu/
The Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute, a multidisciplinary institute at unc-chapel hill, recognizes that every child deserves a safe, healthy, and stimulating childhood. Our work is dedicated to making this a reality for all children. Fpg scientists study important issues facing young children and their families and use this information to enhance policy and improve practice. Http://www.fpg.unc.edu/
National Association for the Education of Young Children: Join NAEYC to help build better futures for all young children—and all of us. Since 1926, NAEYC has led the way toward excellence in early childhood education. Our nearly 80,000 members are teachers, administrators, parents, educators, policy makers, and others committed to bringing high-quality early education and care to all young children. Http://www.naeyc.org/
The National Association for Family Child Care is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting quality child care by strengthening the profession of family child care.
National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies
NACCRRA, the national association of child care resource & referral agencies, is our nation’s leading voice for child care. We work with more than 600 state and local child care resource and referral agencies to ensure that families in every local community have access to quality, affordable child care. To achieve our mission, we lead projects that increase the quality and availability of child care, offer comprehensive training to child care professionals, undertake groundbreaking research, and advocate for child care policies that positively impact the lives of children and families. Http://www.naccrra.org/
The Tennessee Child Care Online Training System, or tccots, is an e-learning portal that combines high-quality early childhood content with the convenience of an online training program that is accessible anytime from anywhere. The training was designed by early childhood professionals to meet the demands for training in providing high-quality care and administration for Tennessee's child care programs. Http://www.tnstate.edu/learningsciences/training.aspx
The Council for Professional Recognition: promotes improved performance and recognition of professionals in the early childhood education of children aged birth to 5 years old. Http://www.cdacouncil.org/index.php
Zero to Three is a national, nonprofit organization that informs, trains, and supports professionals, policymakers, and parents in their efforts to improve the lives of infants and toddlers. Http://www.zerotothree.org/
Kid Central Tennessee pulls and organizes content from across state departments, making it easier for families to find what they need. In addition to articles about health, education, development, and support, it features a comprehensive directory of state-operated and state-funded services for children and families.
In the My Profile section, parents can use enhanced features of the website including: the ability to tag articles that are important for their child and to explore unique developmental milestones based on their child’s age. Parents can also receive recommendations for articles and services that might fit their family. www.kidcentraltn.com